Nikkis Nature

A Place For Sharing Holistic and Healing Insights

Very Simple “Food Rules”

Leave a comment

The book “Food Rules” by Michael Pollan was a New York Times Bestseller, so this is probably old news to a lot of people.  I just recently gave it a thorough read, however, and since I never got to it when it first came out, I figure I’m likely not alone, and thought it might be worth mentioning here.  For anyone who strives to consistently try to shop healthily and struggles with food and eating decisions, this book is great.  There are no mentions of monosaccharides, polybicarbonates, or any other long scientific food product terms in this book.  This is simple language, and for the most part, it is all totally common sense.  It is a quick read, and the rules are so simple that you can’t help but remember at least a few of them as you are meandering down the grocery store aisles.  I find it inspiring because the ideas are so clear.  Statements like “Don’t eat breakfast cereals that change the color of the milk” and “The whiter the bread the sooner you’ll be dead” really stick when you are actually putting items in your cart.  He reminds us that foods that are “lite”, “lo-cal” and “fat free” are a terrible choice.  I am a firm believer that diet soda directly causes you to gain weight-  there are different scientific theories to support this which I have recently heard and I believe them,  not just because of scientific backup but also because of witnessing its use amongst friends and family.  Anyway, if you do strive to provide healthy food for yourself and your family this book is worth your time.  Even as I write this I hear my nine year old in the other room quoting a line from this book.  He just said, “It’s not food if it arrived through the window of your car”.  He giggled, remembering me quoting that part of the book to the family.  This incident reminds me that this book is also a good way to teach your kids ways to tell if food is healthy, because it is written so simply and clearly.  Borrow this book from your library if you haven’t already read it-  you’ll be able to return it in a day or two, and you’ll have some new guidelines for your next grocery trip.  Even if you just choose three or four of his rules that would be doable for you personally and stick with them, you’ll see some nice changes in your food choices.  Happy, healthy eating, friends-  here’s to the steamed kale I’m about to go cook!

Author: nikkisnature

I am a Reiki Master Teacher, hypnotherapist, dream teacher, shamanic practitioner, Physical Therapist and overall nature enthusiast. I have spent over ten years studying spirituality, energy, meditation, health and holistic healing. I continually crave new learning and want to be able to use it to share and help others.

Leave a comment