Nikkis Nature

A Place For Sharing Holistic and Healing Insights

“Clearing Crystal Consciousness”: A Book Review

Leave a comment

In my last article I wrote about a recent experience with crystals and some of my current ideas on bringing them into my Reiki practice.  Shortly after that I happened to read a book called “Clearing Crystal Consciousness” by Christa Faye Burka.  When I first started reading I balked a bit because the author was saying not only that crystals are very powerful to work with, but also that they could be dangerously misused.  I wasn’t inclined to agree with that but read on for some reason.  This book is short and I tore through it in about two hours.  Aside from that one statement, I found it very inspiring regarding crystal work.  She goes into a lot of depth relating clarity of thought and of interpretation of pain and sensation to the clarity and energy of crystals.  She describes a lot of philosophy as well as a lot of practical uses for crystal such as placing an amethyst crystal near the head of the bed to aid in a peaceful night’s sleep, or holding a quartz crystal over each chakra one at a time with the point outward to help clear them.  She mentions how to carry and store them, and places a lot of emphasis on respect for them as a sacred manifestation of the earth’s beauty and power.  In my  last article I spoke of methods for clearing and cleansing them, and this author asserts that a crystal is actually self-cleansing, and that no special method of doing a crystal cleansing is necessary if for any other reason than for the mental focus of the practitioner.  Overall I liked the book and found it a quick and inspirational read-  despite the author’s extreme standpoint on a couple of ideas, I would recommend it to anyone who is fond of using crystals, as it serves to deepen your view of the role of crystals in any healing or meditative work.

Author: nikkisnature

I am a Reiki Master Teacher, hypnotherapist, dream teacher, shamanic practitioner, Physical Therapist and overall nature enthusiast. I have spent over ten years studying spirituality, energy, meditation, health and holistic healing. I continually crave new learning and want to be able to use it to share and help others.

Leave a comment