Nikkis Nature

A Place For Sharing Holistic and Healing Insights

The Reality of Dreams

1 Comment

Last week I was explaining to a client how realistic dreams are to us when you really think about it.  In fact, I told her that they are simply different realities that you get to experience.  We discussed the fact that measured brain waves in REM sleep have been shown to look the same as waking brain waves, with the exception of those in charge of the full levels of arousal.  In other words, if you are running in your sleep, you get to experience the sensations of running fully, as though you had done it in physical reality.  (Sadly, though, because your muscles were not actually moving your body into running, we can’t wake up skinnier and get our workouts completed during the middle of the night!)  Anyway, that very night, with this conversation fresh in my mind, I was dreaming of driving my car.  In the dream I drive up a hill that leads to a bridge and as I am about to drive over the bridge I notice that the middle of it is missing, and if I drive straight ahead on my current path, I would plummet through to the water below.  At that point of realization, I become lucid, meaning I realize fully that I am dreaming.  I know that in this state I am actually laying in my bed, but am consciously still in the dream scene, and have full control of the scenario.  With the knew confidence brought about by becoming fully conscious of both realities, I artfully tilt the car over to the right so that I’m driving only on the two passenger side wheels, scraping along the small ledge that exists at the bottom of the bridge’s outer wall.  After crossing successfully, I remember the conversation with dreams that I had with my client about experiencing sensation fully in a very real way.  I decide to test this so that I can get more evidence to support this information that I am telling people.  I now choose to see the road as a roller coaster and the car as the roller coaster cart.  As I come off of the bridge I imagine that I’m just cresting over the highest point of the coaster track, about to go down that steep, steep, rushing section of the ride that gives you the biggest lurch in your gut.  I purposely want to find out how fully I experience that group of sensations.  As the cart starts to speed down, I feel it all.  My stomach heaves, I feel the complete combination of thrill, exhilaration and letting go that is so familiar with this activity, right along with the rushing wind in my  hair, the difficulty in keeping my eyes fully open at that speed, and the clenching of my grip on the metal bar across my waist.  I feel every one of these sensations, with all of the accompanying emotions, knowing that I’m actually laying in bed.  Right after the cart levels out, I feel so satisfied with my findings that I decide to wake up so I can go write this down.  I was thrilled with my ability to carry out the experiment before I lost hold of the lucidity of the dream.  But mostly I was thrilled to be able to continue to relate with confidence that everything you’ve done in your dreams, you have experienced fully, and that is therefore an integral part of who you are.  You should be amazed and inspired by the times you have flown, jumped, swam, survived fearful situations, helped others, traveled to unknown settings, communicated with animals…. all of it.  There is much more to be learned from every single one of those experiences, but I hope at least that you realize that this is not the only reality in which you exist.  If this intrigues you, feel free to contact me anytime to join in a personal or group dream work session…. you will be glad you did!  Wishing your brightest dreams come true,

Nikki

Author: nikkisnature

I am a Reiki Master Teacher, hypnotherapist, dream teacher, shamanic practitioner, Physical Therapist and overall nature enthusiast. I have spent over ten years studying spirituality, energy, meditation, health and holistic healing. I continually crave new learning and want to be able to use it to share and help others.

One thought on “The Reality of Dreams

  1. I really enjoyed this entry!!!

Leave a Reply

